hey!

why does the world spin?

In poesy on February 20, 2010 at 1:47 am

Oh, why does the world spin?
Seems the show is all over
when we just stumble in.
While the moon hangs forever,
we only begin.
Oh, why does the world spin?

You know why the world spins?
The ancients have known
since forever and then
the game plan got lost as
the sand trickled in.
Can I catch a glimpse
of these magical things?
There’s an endless horizon
where I want to swim
’til it makes me all dizzy
and gravity wins.
Oh, why does the world spin?

Who made the world spin?
There’s never a pause
in the cause of this din.
I’m surprised we can think
with incessant turning.
Night and then day
and then twilight again,
and just as we’re cozy
the dream’s got to end.
So we lurch and we gurgle
’til the credits roll ‘FIN’
Oh, why does the world spin?

Hold me while the world spins.
I promise to love you
and never give in,
never leaning, careening
or wearing too thin,
or losing my grip
on the anchor within.
Together we’ll dance
on the head of this pin.
No fear of tomorrow,
we’ll only begin!
(No matter what angle
Pythagoras planned,
or whether the Mayans
had their calendars jammed.)
We’ll never be bothered
with asking again,
“Oh, why does the world spin?”

~FIN~

Click here to see the spoken word video.


craigslist.org/forums/?ID=140743105

  1. [...] why does the world spin [...]

  2. I believe you may have caused me a problem my world now is all upside down But I loved video anyway Thanks

  3. This poem is a treasure. Head in the clouds, heart like a wheel.

  4. Hey thanks for stopping by to read. Precession is a big fascination of mine, being a ball. I was hoping for a little whimsy, and the poem is of course, for all of you at litfo.

  5. Sorry I didn’t comment on this one sooner. You manage to move the thought without resorting to ‘concrete’ imagery. You keep it playful and don’t zoom in on a gambit that could have failed. Simple machines are the best ones. Good job.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

